Out of the Loop

“Today was crazy hair day, and YOU forgot.  So I just rubbed my head in the dirt and gave myself bedhead.”

I had no idea it was crazy hair day.  Apparently it wasn’t a crisis as far as M was concerned, but I lamented to another parent, “Did I miss an email?  I didn’t know about crazy hair day!”  As I looked around, I noticed none of the kindergartners had crazy hair, and the other parent reassured me it was only for the older kids, so it wasn’t actually my fault this time.  But I’m notorious for forgetting what I read in emails, losing the homework menus, and so on.  It’s doubly embarrassing because I’m a teacher, so I should be on this stuff.

When I was a teaching, I spent an hour a week putting together a newsletter.  It had plenty of pertinent details, such as, “The field trip to the museum will be on Thursday, (date,) at 1:00.  It’s five dollars to go, and please send your permission slips by tomorrow!”  This would have been the final email, though the newsletter would talk about the field trip for at least six weeks prior.  I’d send the newsletter, and within about an hour, get at least five perky emails from  parents: “Hi!  Can you tell me when the field trip is?  How much is it?  and I never got a permission slip! :)”

I’d leave my classroom, go down the hall, and say to my fellow teachers, “Does no one read my damn newsletter?!  Why do I bother?  I could be doing so many other things!  That’s it, let’s go get margaritas.”  And the other teachers would talk about how no one read their damn newsletters either, and then margaritas were had.

Now, I’m on the parent half of things.  M’s former teacher happens to be a parent of her current classmate, and one day, while we waited for the kids, she asked me if I had a copy of the recent newsletter, because she’d lost it.  I said I didn’t have it, but I thought the letter of the week was T.  Or maybe K.  I don’t know, half the time I forget they even do show and tell, and M lectures me about how she talked about her pencil box.  She admitted she had the same problem, because while her own class letters were lovingly crafted, edited and soundly ignored, and she did read the ones we get, it was so easy to forget or lose them.  And neither of us ever want to ask for another copy, because then we’re admitting that we’re those lazy, disorganized parents who lost the damn newsletter.

I do admit that was lost a library book and I forget about show and tell until five minutes before she leaves for school, which is why she tends to show a Barbie with a name that starts with the letter of the week.  However, I’m not a complete loss.  I always have the paperwork in on time, we do the homework and the reading, and my child does arrive properly clothed and often wearing matching socks.  And my daughter can apparently make her own crazy hair, which just shows ingenuity and independence, right?

Leave a Reply

