The Strawberry Bed

You may have noticed I haven’t written much lately.  I don’t have a good excuse, really, but for just not wanting to do much of anything.  Due to some new medication, my hormones have been in a tailspin, and I really just wanted to sleep.  All the time, every day.  At night, I was sitting around weeping for no apparent reason.

Well, this week, my parents came for a visit, and I finally started working on my garden projects I’ve been waiting for since last autumn.  We shattered the remains of a stump that I intend to build a stone bed around, the future home of a fragrant tree rose.  We took a hedge clippers to the boxwoods and this horrible, prickly shrub that only hornets like–all eight shrubs are now gone and tied up for recycling.  (After all that work, my husband came home and I said, “Go look, I took out all the shrubs!” He replied, “What shrubs?”  I doubt he’d have ever noticed on his own.)

What I’m most proud of, though, is the strawberry bed.  When I moved into this house, there was this neglected vegetable box in the corner, overgrown with weeds, thistle and wild geranium.  The first year, I spent hours cleaning out the weeds, repairing the box, and clipping back the branches that shaded it.  I discovered the sprinkler was capped, so I repaired it.  Beneath the mass of weeds and vines, someone, long ago, planted strawberries.  The second year, once given a little sun, water and love, they sprawled all over the box, and produced a massive amount of fruit.  Excitedly, the girls and I went to harvest–and every single berry was a stem.  The birds had eaten them all.

So, this year is year three, and using some PVC pipe, clamps and fabric netting, it now looks like this:

iphone2015 132

I’m pretty proud of it, and thankful for all the help I had.  The next step, this summer, is to build a set of large vegetable boxes around the perimeter, since the strawberries choke out anything in their domain.  It will double as a fence.  Then, lay in stepping stones around the strawberry box, and plant raspberry and blueberry bushes around the edges.

Out front, I’ll dig out the sod by the roses, and move the pea gravel from the back to the front.  I’m actually really excited about this.  It felt so good to be out in the sun.  Plus, I love to make things.  I love to bake, cross stitch, make cards, scrapbook–anything that I can hold in my hands and see what I’ve accomplished.  Looking out at the yard now, I can see so many things I did.  I’m sore and tired, but at least now, it’ s a good tired, and I slept well last night.  Apparently, whenever I’m feeling down, I need to go haul some rocks around; even pulling weeds makes me feel more zen.  On to creating more beautiful things!

Leave a Reply

