M’s Hot Lunch

I usually make M’s lunch.  “Hot lunch” at school is very expensive, and I can make M a healthy lunch for about 1/2 the cost. I like knowing what’s in her food and knowing I’ve sent things she’ll eat.  I try to vary it as much as possible, but she does get a lot of sandwiches.  Lately, M has been helping make her own lunch.  Her cooking skills are limited, so she was making a lot of peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, applesauce, yogurt, olives, carrot sticks, etc.  And every day, while she made lunch, I heard this:

“EVERYBODY else at school gets hot lunch.  It looks SO good. They have pizza and burritos and chicken nuggets and everything.  How come I never get hot lunch?”

“I can’t really afford it, and I can cook the same stuff.”

“But it’s not the same.  It’s not on a tray and it’s not hot and I can’t get Inta Juice.”

“I’m not paying for Inta Juice.  Do you want your lunch hot?  I can do that.”

“No, I don’t like hot food at lunch.  But everyone else gets…”

And on we went.  Finally, she wore me down.

“Fine,” I agreed.  “One hot lunch per month.  If you want more than that, you can pay for it.”

M went off to school, grinning ear to ear, thrilled to FINALLY have hot lunch.  When she got off the bus that day, I asked her, “So, how was it?  What did you have?”

“Oh, Mom, it was SO good!  I had a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, applesauce, and carrot sticks.”

Leave a Reply

