Mother’s Day

It’s been a rough few weeks.  We’ve had a lot of illness, emergencies and crazy schedules, and it’s going to get worse before it gets better.  This weekend, like the one before it, a lot of plans got suddenly cancelled, and I was feeling pretty down.  When asked what I wanted to do for Mother’s Day, I couldn’t really think of anything.  Each year my gift is a rose for my garden; I planted it on Friday and it looks beautiful, and I love that when I’m in my garden each one reminds me of choosing it with my girls.  But for activities, well..I couldn’t think of anything I wanted to do.

My husband suggested  go-karting.  I haven’t done that since I was a little girl, but why not?  We went down to Gateway Park, which wasn’t crowded so early, so we had the track to ourselves.  M tried driving a go kart for the first time, and it was fun to watch her face.  She wasn’t sure at first, but by her last laps she was laughing and windblown.

Then, we all drove together.  My husband took M and I took Little A on the full course.  Little A, now three, loves to drive and was excited to ride along.  As I took her around the track, I was watching her.  Her smile, her wild curls blowing around her face, her dark, sparkling eyes.  She laughed and cried in her baby voice, “We’re going so fast outside!  Let’s drive to the mountains and the beach and forever!”

After that, we played mini-golf.  There are two types of families that play mini-golf.  One type where the parents are coaching the kids non-stop. (“Watch your putts!  Change your grip!” etc.) and there are the ones like mine, that blaze through and hope they  get one of the balls in the hole at some point.  No, we don’t keep score.  For one thing, Little A is very concerned when the ball is too far from the hole, and will simply pick up any ball and carry it closer.  She’ll also pick it up and hand it to you at random.  I know that would drive some people crazy, but we were having fun, and I’ve never been particularly competitive about my mini-golf scores.  There was a lot of laughing, balls rolling into the water (M fell in also) and overall silliness.

When we drove home, we took the scenic route in the foothills, chatting about M’s upcoming birthday and our summer plans.  It wasn’t a fancy day, but it was a wonderful day.  I don’t remember a lot of the brunches I eat or cards I read, but I’ll always remember Little A in the go kart, driving on and on to the mountains and forever.

One response to “Mother’s Day

  1. im glad you had a wonderful mothers day, sounds like you really need some fun time, glad you got it!!

Leave a Reply

