Packing the Trunk

Colorado is on fire.

Yesterday Morning:

It was terribly smoky from the Cameron Fire. We were checking on friends in cities nearby, coughing a lot, taking inhalers and worrying about the northern part of the state. Otherwise, we made breakfast and went on about our day.

Yesterday, after lunch:

I thought I might take a nap. My husband wanted to go for a bike ride, but came back ten minutes later. He reported a plume of thick smoke nearby, and we got an alert about the Cal-wood fire, which started in the mountains, about a 40 minute drive from our house. Soon, smoke filled the air and ash came raining down. We got a warning that we should prepare for a possible evacuation. I told my girls to go pick three toys and pack a few changes of clothing. To their credit they did as asked very quickly and without argument. They chose their American Girl dolls, stuffed animal souvenirs from Disneyland and two of their favorite books. M also tucked a framed picture of her Grandpa under her arm and said it had to go too.

Yesterday evening:

The outer edge of our city was evacuated. We could see an ominous red glow over the neighborhood, and went a few blocks away to look. The fire came careening down the mountain. We took this picture:

And then we went home to pack.

It’s sobering to look around your house and think, if this all disappears tonight, what do we take? How do you compact your life into the trunk of your car? As it turns out, it was this:

  1. Kids, pets, medicine and pet foods/supplies.
  2. Purse and important paperwork: house deed, birth certificates, etc. I had it all in a few secure places so I could grab it all quickly. My dad would be proud.
  3. Changes of clothes for everyone
  4. laptops, iPads, etc so we had all our pictures, my writing, etc.
  5. Scrapbooks
  6. A pair of swords my dad gave me on my college graduation
  7. My Rockwell Kent Shakespeare book. I saved all my money for a summer when I was thirteen to buy it. I have a huge and precious book collection, but that’s my favorite.
  8. One embroidery I made and one painting my husband made.
  9. My Sarubobo figure from Takayama, Japan. He’s a rare collectible and represents laughter and hope.
  10. My grandma’s cookbook.
  11. My jewelry and a few small family heirlooms.

And there it was. I always wondered, of all my things that mean the most, what would it be? Well, now I know. My life packed into a car.

i’d be devastated if I lost my house. I love my house and the things in it. But I love the people and animals the most, and if all I got was them I’d be okay. I thought about when I packed a single suitcase, moved to Japan and started life anew. It was so hard but I did it. I could do it again.

We packed it all, cleaned up the kitchen, and waited.

We didn’t have to leave. The air grew cold.

Today:

We woke up to a soft rain and 30 degree air. I sat on my driveway and cried with joy. I’ve never been so grateful for rain. I’ve never wanted winter so badly. The evacuation area near us is now “all clear.”

The fire is still out of control on the mountain. It’s growing bigger. They don’t know what started it, but unlike the others, it wasn’t lightning. We’re not done, so all is still packed and ready by the door. We’re watching in terror and heartbreak for the towns nearby, beautiful places we love. We’re hoping with everything we have for miracles and snow.

We put out lots of food in our backyard for birds and creatures running from the fire. There are clouds of birds and squirrels out there, and my daughter is sitting on the windowsill, watching them with her hands on the glass. Kiki the bobtail cat is losing her fuzzy little mind.

Today, I know what’s important.

Leave a comment