On the Inauguration

I’ve always watched the inauguration, even when I wasn’t excited about the president, because it’s my civic duty, and I want my children to do so as well. I was of course going to have my children watch, and since I’m overjoyed about Biden and Harris, I was planning a big festive meal too. (Of course, the broken foot put an end to that, but we could still enjoy the day, right?)

After the insurrection, a friend said she wasn’t going to have her child watch the inauguration, because Biden might get shot, and the wind went out of my sails. What if that happened? My mom’s group chatted about it. We talked about our days as students and watching the Challenger explode while we were at school, watching our teachers cry and how that memory endured. We talked about the value of historic moments, and whether or not we should screen them. I went round and round with myself. This year has been such a disaster. I place deep value on history and teaching it as it is, and yet heaping scary news on my seven year old isn’t something I want to do, either. We’ve had plenty.

My daughter has a biography of Sonia Sotomayor which both girls love, and when they heard that Sotomayor would be swearing in Harris, they both wanted to see it. That settled it for for me. My Japanese girls needed to see a female Supreme Court Justice swear in the first female Vice President, come what may. We turned on the inauguration and both of my daughters stood transfixed and watched as Harris took her oath. I cried and my girls twirled, clapped and cheered. It was such an extraordinary moment to see my girls standing before two powerful women, showing them all they can be.

I had been all set to write up something nasty on my Facebook about how happy I was that the previous president was gone, but I’m not now. I’m so happy, watching my sweet girls dance, that all that negative energy drained away. I never want to say his name again.

M (12) went to class but kept her headphones partially off to listen, but A (7) stayed for the whole thing, listening with rapt attention. She asked me some clarifying questions, and said, “So he’s saying, it’s okay if we don’t all agree, but we have to work together. Like at school. That’s what my teacher says too. It’s okay if you’re not all best friends, but you still have to be polite and try to help each other. It’s interesting that the president has to say that to all the adults.”

I asked her if she thought it would work. She said, “Mostly, but just like kids, there are probably some that will need to go to the office.”

I tried to sing along with Garth Brooks, but I was crying too hard. Partially because Amazing Grace makes me cry to begin with, and partially because Brooks was my dad’s favorite singer and it made me miss my dad. A asked me why I was crying, and I said, “I’m just so happy. Maybe things will finally get better. I feel hopeful that maybe someone will care about the planet again, and maybe we’ll finally get the vaccine and we can go back to school. Biden chose people I think will do a good job, and I think he’ll be a good leader.” I’ve been studied the cabinet picks and overall I’m very pleased, and as an educator, I’m especially pleased with the Secretary of Education.

“And that makes you cry?”

“Yeah, it does. I’ve felt sad for a long time. But today, I feel better.”

I really do feel better. I feel hopeful. It’s not perfect, it never is and it never can be, but it’s better.

A did say at one point, “I’m worried that Mr. Biden isn’t wearing a mask. That’s not safe.”

“He’s not standing near anybody at the moment.”

“Hmm. I guess that’s true. Well…and he is in his own house.”

Leave a comment